Official Release | November 28, 2018

Stockton, Calif. – Stockton Kings guard Reggie Hearn was announced as the 2018 USA Basketball Male Athlete of the Year. USA Basketball has presented its Athlete of the Year awards annually since 1980. Hearn is a member of two USA Basketball Men’s World Cup Qualifying Teams in 2018 and the November 2017 MWCQ team.

Hearn has been a member of four of the five USA World Cup Qualifying teams that have been comprised of G League players, and he was a part of the 5-0 2017 USA AmeriCup Team. He has ranked among the USA’s top four scorers in each of the four completed competitions. In the five World Cup Qualifying games in which he has appeared, he was averaged 12.2 points and 4.2 rebounds in 22.8 minutes per game while shooting 55.3 percent from the field and 64.0 percent from 3-point.

“Just to see that I’m included amongst that group (Kevin Durant, LeBron James, Carmelo Anthony, Kyrie Irving, Jameel Warney) is an incredible honor and something I never thought I’d be able to experience,” said Stockton Kings Guard Reggie Hearn said. “This award goes to me in name, but I want to thank all those people without whom I wouldn’t be here and thank Jesus who created me and created this opportunity for me.”

Currently, Hearn is a member of the 2018 USA Basketball November/December Men’s World Cup Qualifying Team, which will take on Argentina at 7:30 p.m. EST on Nov. 29 in La Rioja, Argentina, and Uruguay at 6 p.m. EST on Dec. 2 in Montevideo, Uruguay.


USA Basketball Male Athlete of the Year Award Winners
2018 Reggie Hearn 1998 Elton Brand
2017 Jameel Warney 1997 Earl Boykins
2016 Carmelo Anthony &
Kevin Durant
1996 Scottie Pippen
2015 Jalen Brunson 1995 Ray Allen
2014 Kyrie Irving 1994 Shaquille O’Neal
2013 Aaron Gordon 1993 Michael Finley
2012 LeBron James 1992 U.S. Olympic Men’s Team
2011 Jabari Parker 1991 Christian Laettner
2010 Kevin Durant 1990 Alonzo Mourning
2009 James McAdoo 1989 Larry Johnson
2008 U.S. Olympic Men’s Team 1988 Dan Majerle
2007 Jason Kidd 1987 Danny Manning
2006 Carmelo Anthony 1986 David Robinson
2005 Sheldon Williams 1985 Chuck Person
2004 Sean May &
Chris Paul
1984 Michael Jordan &
Sam Perkins
2003 Tim Duncan 1983 Michael Jordan
2002 Reggie Miller 1982 Glenn Rivers
2001 Chris Duhon 1981 Kevin Boyle
2000 Alonzo Mourning 1980 Isiah Thomas
1999 Gary Payton

# # #

The Stockton Kings are a member of the NBA G League, the official minor league of the NBA. The Stockton Kings are affiliated with the Sacramento Kings. Tickets for the 2018-19 season are on sale now! For more information, call the Stockton Kings front office at 888-KNGS-209 or visit StocktonKings.com. Follow us on Twitter @StocktonKings and “like” the Stockton Kings on Facebook at Facebook.com/KingsStockton.

The NBA G League is the NBA’s official minor league, preparing players, coaches, officials, trainers, and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory. Featuring 27 teams — all with one-to-one affiliations with NBA franchises — in the 2018 -19 season, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA G League Cares programs.


Related articles